Big Girls Don’t Cry… or So You May Think

Okay, I admit, I am an emotional crybaby at heart. Why am I confessing this random and useless fact? Because, yesterday, I stumbled upon an episode of Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern where he toured the unconventional cuisine of San Francisco. I want to start out by saying that I really love Andrew Zimmern. I know, I know, I don’t know him personally so say what you may, but he truly seems like an amazing person. He used to be a drug addict, homeless on the streets of New York, but was able to pull through his dark and trying times to crawl into our hearts and become the world-renowned bizarre food eater that he is today. It also doesn’t hurt that he looks like one of my favorite nursery rhyme characters: Humpty Dumpty :)

Andrew Zimmern

vs.

Humpty Dumpty

Anyway, the little snippet that I watched yesterday was of these two young women who are a part of Food Not Bombs. An organization dedicated to providing vegetarian food to the homeless and hungry. So what is so bizarre about this? Well, considering the fact that they live in San Francisco, a mecca for activists, they get all of their food by using others’ waste from… dumpsters and “recycling” it to make vegetarian food. I know that at first you might be repulsed and think “How on earth is feeding the homeless with dumpster food okay?!”, but actually, a lot of the food is thrown away by grocers and supermarkets, when the food is only a day-old or sometimes even less. These Food Not Bombs activists salvage all edible foods from the dumpsters and cook hearty meals for those who are starving and on the streets.

So why did I choke on my food and start to tear up? Because the two women after picking through the dumpsters, took the freshest fruits and put them at the feet of a sleeping homeless man, all while the cameras were not rolling. I guess it was the combination of the fact that they were utilizing all the perfectly good, but wasted food for a good purpose and the fact that they provided a hungry man with a morsel of happiness – ALL without recognition that tugged my heartstrings. In a day and age where cynicism and egocentricity prevail, it sprinkled a dash of hope on my heart to hear of people who truly live in humility. These people gallantly dive into these dumpsters to provide a touch of kindness to those who may have lost all hope in a harsh world.

I know you might think that I’m a tree-hugging hippie, but truly, every little imprint we leave on this planet directly affects us — whether it be humanitarian, environmental, or even in our simple day to day lives.

Anyway, it is amazing to see, no matter how small it may seem in comparison to the seven billion people on Earth, these selfless activists doing their thing to make the world a better place. Their main purpose, aside from feeding the hungry, is to promote peace and eventually help in the process of ending the U.S. military occupations of Iraq, Afghanistan, and Palestine. Check out their website here to make your good day even better!

Leave a Reply

